85 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Very Enjoyable Comedy
rjb-5114924 December 2018
I only went to see this because my wife is a huge J Love fan. To my surprise and delight, the movie is really well done. The heartwarming parts work well, and the comedy is laugh out loud funny. J Love is luminous throughout the film, and this is really a film where she shines. The inspired casting of Leah Remini as her best friend ( who nearly steals the film along with Dierdre Friel and Lacretta as J Lo's co workers) really uses the chemistry they have as friends in real life. There is a twist to the plot which I will not reveal. Beautifully shot, great use of NY as a backdrop and a great supporting cast with not a false note in the bunch. It held my attention, and that's saying something as well. I hope to see Leah Remini get some more films after this, because she makes a great sidekick. I loved it.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't understand the poor reviews
SarcasticBella27 December 2018
Look, not every movie is going to be award worthy, and I didn't expect this one to be. I knew based off of the trailer exactly what I was getting, and I got it. While the story line may have been a bit predictable, I received an enjoyable afternoon where for two hours, I got to escape from reality and just laugh. The acting was well done, the comedy was excellent, and the story line was cute. It was your typical girly rom com and I loved it. The perfect way to spend a rainy Thursday.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than expected...
twright-5140212 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Lopez shows her acting prowess, and Hudgen's pairs well in the role of her daughter. The story has more strengths than weaknesses, but is bogged down by some head scratching plot twists and minor roles, especially the young boy who is a fan of cursing. Treat Williams is solid throughout. Worth a watch.
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice, lite, Fun, heartwarming movie
marykfinn27 December 2018
I enjoyed this very much. Laughed out loud and was moved to tears. It is not meant to be taken too seriously. If you want a fun, enjoyable night at the movies, I would highly recommend this.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable cast & storyline.
elizabeth_hart27 December 2018
Expected more fluff & sometimes movie trailers show the best parts & there isn't anything else left to laugh about. But this one surprised me. Everyone was enjoyable to watch. Have to say that I always felt Jennifer Lopez' acting always seemed forced & exaggerated in her movies. Not in this one. She did a great job. The chemistry between her & Leah Remini was fantastic! Many laugh out loud moments from a lot of the characters. Really enjoyed this movie.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jennifer lopez never disappoint me
who_is_modi_its_me22 December 2018
Another good JLO movie i went to the theater with my partner we had a good laugh , and i was so happy seeing Vanessa hudgens i love her so much and its not another romantic comedy its just comedy with a new idea its kinda similar to the Tv show "Younger"
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Definitely has funny moments, but some drama as well. Good looks help in life.
Saiyan_Prince_Vegeta15 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I definitely had a smile on my face while watching this movie and it has number of funny moments, however I had seen the trailer the day before so I was expecting a lot of them (another proof that watching trailers is a bad thing).

Surprisingly, this movie has some drama as well and some people might even shed a tear, but it's quite a beaufiful life story.

There are a few movie cliches, for example like she decided to tell the truth when everyone was watching live, instead of doing her job and representing the company. That cliche is quite popular and her decision didn't look smart, but then again, it's not like she finished Harvard lol.

Also after watching this movie it kind of made me realize that looks do help in life (which is obvious, but still), especially for the first impression. Jennifer Lopez is sometimes average and sometimes beautiful and clothes and hair play a huge role on how you look, so it does help to take some time and do some shopping once in a while to look good, since both men and women notice if you look good and you will get better things. That's just how life is.

On overall I don't feel like my time was wasted and the movie is quite good, so I'd recommend it to my friends, even to watch together again.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jennifer Lopez never disappoints
AdrienneGrayceMusic1 January 2019
Wow, what a fantastic movie. Stellar cast and very funny. Its a bit of Comedy, drama, and romance but mostly funny. I don't think I've laughed so much in the movies in a long time. We went today on New years day and it was a sold out show in the morning. The audience laughed the whole time. A little far fetched but still fantastic. A great story of women empowerment, or just empowerment in general. Its a feel good movie and another excellent well-done job by Jennifer Lopez, the woman who never ages. Although she dances and sings too, I'm not a fan of hers for her music. Her acting is what I think she is best at. I can now add this to one of my fave "J-Low" movies. And don't get me started on her sidekick in the movie, Leah Remini. Those two have some serious on-screen chemistry. Its no wonder they are friends in real life. There hasn't been too many films I have enjoyed much lately so this is a breath of fresh air. I Highly recommend it!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Second Act is pure comedy Gold
jtungsten165 January 2019
I Absolutely loved Second Act, it's a great feel good movie with a positive message and the acting was on point. This movie gets a 10 from me because I was left sitting there at the end of the credits feeling so happy and the message was "you can really accomplish anything if you believe in yourself" Jennifer Lopez and Leah Remini and the two best friends chemistry was amazing and I absolutely love Freddie Stroma now great actor and adorable. Everyone needs to see this movie.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sweet, funny and comforting
aerynvala-979-2836961 January 2019
I genuinely enjoyed this movie. I liked the characters and their relationships, the way the movie conveyed the depth of their history without being heavy handed in the exposition. There was a comfort and chemistry between Maya and her friends/loved ones that came through very nicely.

I enjoy the trope of a normal person faking it in high society/business and succeeding so that's the main reason I came to this movie. But what was great about this movie is that it tweaked some of the usual cliches in just the right way to make the movie feel fresh and interesting.

I loved that the primary emotional journey was not about a romantic relationship. Leah Remini was a fricken delight. I enjoyed all the performances and how the plot resolved. I will be getting this on video too, it's worth rewatching.

I really liked seeing a woman older than 30 having this kind of story. It felt good.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish i could give zero
muhammadali-0612628 December 2018
Remember that othrr J lo movie you saw? Well this is EXACTLY the same. J low impresses everyone with her "street smarts", wins the guy, gets the job, happily ever after. You literally have to have a steel rod driven into your skull to be stupid enough to enjoy this. Shockingly i can see a few 10/10 littered around the rating section. 10? Really? So this movie is the Godfather of romcoms? Honestly....
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid
tylerdarland22 December 2018
Went with my mom & sister-in-law and we loved it. I never look to see what movie critics say about movies because it's usually the opposite of how I feel about the movie. This movie was good from beginning to end. Great cast and storyline. A good 'girls night out' movie to see.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Steaming hot pile of garbage
Mikeandike891 January 2019
I saw this movie without knowing anything about it or seeing a preview of any kind and good lord was it awful. Incredibly unrealistic and silly, the only thing keeping it from 1 star is JLo's somewhat tolerable acting ability to carry on the incohesive plot that pulls the viewer in 5 different directions. Do not waste your time or money on this movie and thank me later!
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nice funny movie
httomcat12 December 2018
I really enjoyed this movie. Great characters. It made me laugh. I would recommend this movie if you just want a real feel good movie to watch. Great cast! Funny and smart.
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A J-Lo movie I wasn't expecting.
josephjspence27 December 2018
Don't let the reviews fool you. Is it a Jennifer Lopez comedy? Of course! But this movie wasn't marketed the way it could've been. Vanessa & Jen have great chemistry and the supporting cast is great. Original story with the typical movie subplots. I'll definitely watch it again.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughed, cried then laughed more again!
tsennikos12 December 2018
This movie really made me believe in myself no matter what people say!!Such an empowering movie, definitely recommend it!!
22 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Second act
walooaabuh16 December 2018
The story in not new but relatable to many from different demographica and watching Jennifer Lopez is always joyful
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
maxytorn12 December 2018
If you want to get inspired and empowered you got to watch this movie! Everyone deserves a Second Act and it's never too late!!! Jennifer Lopez is amazing as always!!!
21 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cute movie
monica-7337922 December 2018
This movie is a cute movie! Leah Remini and Jennifer Lopez are amazing together. It's just a good romantic comedy drama and chick flick. It's a feel good movie!!
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable and humorous!
PokeyNan726 December 2018
Mostly a chick flick, akin to a Hallmark movie, this was a fun diversion. When the majority of available films are horror, animation, or super hero genres, this was a change of pace.

The theme was female empowerment and overcoming class restrictions, but it had a lot of funny lines that had the audience laughing. Definitely worth the time and money.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
No memorable scene
ilovefoodcoma31 December 2018
The Story: I like the casts and the idea of the story line. However, the way they deliver the story... kind of flat. Didn't really get me emotional. Definitely no "awww" or "wow" scene. No memorable scene.

The Directing: The "twist" in this movie could make it more dramatic. Because that should be the highlight scene to touch audiences hearts. Unfortunately, they didn't really spend too much scene to setup the "surprise" so it didn't have the smooth flow in the script.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not What I Expected
dianakomavli31 December 2018
Such a predictable movie; revamped Maid in Manhattan. I couldn't wait for it to be over. I would have expected more of Milo Ventimiglia.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good movie and story
ramdjielalskh23 December 2018
Finaly another good movie in 2018. There was comedy and a strong message to us all.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely and Funny
ridwanyoung25 December 2018
I watched this movie last night. Saw the trailer like weeks before. Actually this movie is very funny and lovely. I enjoyed the movie. Wouldn't mind to watch it again
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
amazing movie
anthonykhoury8515 December 2018
I advice every single person to go and watch this incredible movie starting from the production , script, cast. i think it's an amazing story with an incredible message sent to every person on this planet !! don't miss it!
12 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed